Icecast Streaming Media Server Forum Index Icecast Streaming Media Server
Icecast is a Xiph Foundation Project

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Preventing the web status/admin pages being shown to listene

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Icecast Streaming Media Server Forum Index -> Icecast Server
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Anonymous

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 1:14 am    Post subject: Preventing the web status/admin pages being shown to listene Reply with quote

Hi All

I trawled the forum, and didn't find any good info.

So I fiddled with .htaccess files in the web directory. Yep, you can deny/allow the pages being shown: but I was cutting off my encoders from being able to connect to the server!

As I am no programmer/.htaccess expert, and as it's not in the documentation: what is the recommended way to stop the web pages being shown to anyone (except via a defined private IP range), *yet* still allow clients to get the streams, and for encoders still to be able to connect?

Someone must have wanted to do this before Smile.

I just want to stop the html pages being displayed *unless* the source address is from a 172.6.x.x address.
karlH
Code Warrior
Code Warrior

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Half of your post seems to refer to a web server as icecast does not use .htaccess files (icecast uses a htpasswd authentication on a mountpoint). Most people only use the status page or similar for expanding the connected mounts, rather than using icecast as a web server.

Trunk does allow for webroot files and xslt transformations to be authenticated, but only my branch work allows for you to define wildcards for these. For IP range checking you would need to use url based auth not htpasswd.

karl.
Anonymous