Icecast Streaming Media Server Forum Index Icecast Streaming Media Server
Icecast is a Xiph Foundation Project

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Beginner's Tutorial
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Icecast Streaming Media Server Forum Index -> F.A.Q.
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 10:50 pm    Post subject: Beginner's Tutorial Reply with quote

As a beginner, I have many unanswered questions. So, I propose that a topic be created where the more advanced can leave info on how to, Step by Step, set up free, open source, "source client" to Icecast software, to make an internet radio and/or TV station. Your responses to this will be greatly appreciated and usefull, and will remain here for other newbies.
Please feel free to add your thoughts, and help this topic grow.

My specific questions are based on the goal of setting up a streaming radio station that is based on royalty free original content, and software that has no licensing fees or monitary restrictions, such as Ogg Vorbis.
It seems that this software requires some experience or specific technical knowledge to set this up. It does not come as an integrated package with a GUI. I thought I saw some offered by some proprietary vendors that will encode to ogg and stream to Icecast, but they appear to keep you in their own camp so they can charge high prices with their own server.

1. Can you please suggest a list of the specific software that I will need, beginning with a good Ogg encoder, and streaming package that would not require the user to be a programmer, that would stream to Icecast.

2. Is there a step by step tutorial anywhere, describing how to set all this up for people with minimal knowledge specific to internet radio streaming?