Icecast Streaming Media Server Forum Index Icecast Streaming Media Server
Icecast is a Xiph Foundation Project

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Client downloads entire clip before playing

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Icecast Streaming Media Server Forum Index -> Icecast Server
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Anonymous

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:52 pm    Post subject: Client downloads entire clip before playing Reply with quote

Hi,

First off, I'm a newbie as far as streaming goes - this might be a FAQ but I can't find anything similar searching the archives.

I am trying to set up icecast on a SuSE 9.3 (Linux) server. Got the latest source last week (2.2.0) and successfully built & installed (with ogg / vorbis etc. as suggested by ./configure). Simple icecast.xml config based on the template - just changed the passwords, hostname and paths. At this stage I'm just trying to stream existing mp3 / ogg files, so no ices or other source client (yet).

Connecting via a simple web page (also in development) - openLDAP & php behind it, but browser sees links as e.g. http :// server : 8000 / file.mp3 (broken by me as some forums don't like links!)
Clicking on the link always results in downloading the whole file before playing it - Linux and MS-Win clients, both with Firefox browser & RealPlayer10 plus xmms / winamp. These clients see to work OK otherwise, such as when accessing other people's content, so I assume I am doing something wrong at my server. I'd welcome any pointers!

Thanks,
Richard (MQ)
Anonymous

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2005 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dont give the client an .mp3 url .. the client browser will just try to download it.